2018 CFRA Player of the Year Award

For the seventh consecutive season, the College Football Researchers Association has crowned a Player of the Year, and this season Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa takes the title by the narrowest of margins.  Tua bested runner-up Kyler Murray by just two points in a race where Murray actually garnered more first-place votes than the Alabama quarterback.   In five of the past six seasons, the CFRA Player of the Year has gone on to take the Heisman Trophy, with the one exception being Deshaun Watson in 2016 who most likely would have won the Heisman if the poll was conducted after last year’s playoff.  The full breakdown of votes is below with the number of first-place votes each player received in parentheses:

1.  Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (4)– 44 points

2.  Kyler Murray (5)– 42 points

3.  Dwayne Haskins– 23 points

4.  McKenzie Milton, UCF– 16 points

5.  Josh Allen, Kentucky– 7 points

6.  Gardner Minshew, Washington State– 6 points

7.  Will Grier, West Virginia– 4 points

7.  Travis Etienne, Clemson– 4 points

9.  Ian Book, Notre Dame– 3 points

10. Deebo Samuel, South Carolina 2 points

10. Quinnen Williams, Alabama 2 points

10. Anthony McFarland, Maryland 2 points

10. Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin 2 points

10. Greedy Williams, LSU 2 points

10. Darrell Henderson, Memphis 2 points

16. Marquise Brown, Oklahoma 1 point

16. Jake Fromm, Georgia 1 point

16. Greg Dortch, Wake Forest 1 point

16. Karan Higdon, Michigan– 1 point

16. Clelin Ferrell, Clemson– 1 point


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s