About the CFRA

The College Football Researchers Association was originally founded by the late Anthony Cusher of Reeder, North Dakota in 1982.  It was an organization modeled after the Professional Football Researchers Association (PFRA) consisting of college football fans and writers dedicated to researching and analyzing the history of the game.  The CFRA retrospectively elected national champions from the years of 1919-1981 based on a poll created by Harry Carson Frye and also voted on present-day national champions during the years of 1982-1992.  They published their results in a monthly bulletin produced by Robert Kirlin of Spokane, Washington until after the ’92 season when the association ceased operations and several successor organizations, operating under different names, were created.

In fall of 2009, under the coordination of Brad Matthews and with the involvement of past members, the College Football Researchers Association was reorganized, and a group of both new and original CFRA voters was assembled to recreate this influential poll.  According to the official NCAA college football record book, the College Football Researchers Association has elected more national champions than any other multi-voter poll in the country! (see p. 112)


5 thoughts on “About the CFRA

  1. Hi, I am interested in joining/becoming a member of the CFRA. What is required to do so? Can someone please contact me? Thanks.

    1. Hey Matthew,

      I appreciate your interest in joining the CFRA. If you could just e-mail me (bmatthews85@gmail.com) a brief description of your college football interests and involvement, then we will add you to our mailing list. Also, how did you hear about our organization? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s