2020 CFRA Player of the Year Award

For the ninth consecutive season, the College Football Researchers Association has bestowed a Player of the Year award to the best overall player in college football, and this season DeVonta Smith from Alabama has taken the title by a narrow margin. Smith edged out his teammate Mac Jones by one first-place vote and four total points to win this year’s title. In all, five different players garnered first-place CFRA player of the year votes in what clearly was a wide open competition. Six of the previous eight winners of this award went on to win the Heisman Trophy, with Deshaun Watson (2016) and Tua Tagovailoa (2018) being the two exceptions. The full breakdown of votes is below with the number of first-place votes each player received in parentheses:

1.  DeVonta Smith, Alabama (3)– 29 points

2.  Mac Jones, Alabama (2)– 25 points

3. Kyle Trash, Florida– 22 points

4.  Trevor Lawrence, Clemson– 20 points

5.  Najee Harris, Alabama– 16 points

6.  Kyle Pitts, Florida– 9 points

7.  Jaret Patterson, Buffalo– 6 points

8.  Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina– 4 points

9.  Breece Hall, Iowa State– 3 points

9. Justin Fields, Ohio State– 3 points

9. Javonte Williams, North Carolina– 3 points

12. C.J. Marable, Coastal Carolina– 2 points

12. Zach Wilson, Brigham Young– 2 points

12. Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon– 2 points

15. Travis Etienne, Clemson– 1 point

15. Landon Dickerson, Alabama– 1 point

15. Kellen Mond– 1 point

15. Ian Book– 1 points


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s