2021 CFRA Player of the Year Award

For the tenth consecutive season, the College Football Researchers Association has bestowed a Player of the Year award to the best overall player in college football, and this season Bryce Young from Alabama has taken the title by a large margin. Young bested all of his rivals by 28 points and received 10 of the 16 possible first-place votes. Seven of the previous nine winners of this award went on to win the Heisman Trophy, with Deshaun Watson (2016) and Tua Tagovailoa (2018) being the two exceptions. The full breakdown of votes is below with the number of first-place votes each player received in parentheses:

1.  Bryce Young, Alabama (10)– 68 points

2. Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh (4)– 40 points

3. C.J. Stroud, Ohio State– 29 points

4. Kenneth Walker III, Michigan State– 22 points

5. Aidan Hutchinson, Michigan (2)– 19 points

6. Matt Corral, Ole Miss– 14 points

7. Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati– 10 points

7. Sam Hartman, Wake Forest– 10 points

9. Will Anderson, Alabama– 9 points

9. Jordan Davis, Georgia- 9 points

11. John Metchie III, Alabama– 4 points

12. Jordan Addison, Pittsburgh– 2 points

13. Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky– 1 point

13. Jerome Ford, Cincinnati– 1 point

13. Caleb Williams, Oklahoma– 1 point


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s