2022 CFRA Player of the Year Award

For the eleventh consecutive season, the College Football Researchers Association has bestowed a Player of the Year award to the best overall player in college football, and this season Caleb Williams from Southern California has taken the title. Williams garnered 6 of 13 possible first-place votes to get the victory over runner-up Max Duggan by a total of nine points. Interestingly, the third place finisher was Hendon Hooker who we already know is not one of the top four vote-getters for this year’s Heisman Trophy. Over the past decade, eight of the previous ten winners of this award went on to win the Heisman Trophy, with Deshaun Watson (2016) and Tua Tagovailoa (2018) being the two CFRA Players of the Year to fall short in the Heisman Race. The full breakdown of votes is below with the number of first-place votes each player received in parentheses:

1.  Caleb Williams, Southern California (6)– 43 points

2. Max Duggan, TCU (2)– 34 points

3. Hendon Hooker, Tennessee (3)– 26 points

4. Stetson Bennett, Georgia– 21 points

5. C.J. Stroud– 16 points

6. Blake Corum, Michigan– 14 points

7. Bijan Robinson, Texas– 6 points

8. Jalen Carter, Georgia (1)– 5 points

8. Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota (1)– 5 points

10. Marvin Harrison, Jr, Ohio State- 4 points

11. Brock Bowers, Georgia– 3 points

11. Bryce Young, Alabama– 3 points

11. J.J. McCarthy, Michigan– 3 points

14. Frank Harris, UTSA– 2 points

14. Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State– 2 points

14. Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee– 2 points

17. Michael Pratt, Tulane– 1 point

17. Drake Thomas, NC State– 1 point

17. Drake Maye, North Carolina– 1 point

17. Cameron Rising, Utah– 1 point

17. Jordan Addison, Southern California– 1 point

17. Kendre Miller, TCU– 1 point

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s